Hodges University announces fall 2012 scholarship recipients

Hodges University News

Hodges University is proud to announce the recipients of several private scholarships for the fall 2012 semester. The private scholarships of Hodges University are available through the generous donations of benefactors and foundations who wish to assist students to reach their academic goals by offering financial assistance in the form of scholarships.

Lavern N. Gaynor Scholarship: Named after the University’s 1997 Humanitarian of the Year, this scholarship provides tuition assistance to individuals pursuing the benefits of higher education. Scholarships were awarded to Desiree Boissiere, Andrele Hilaire, Susan Marquez, Rosario Perez, Eibby Porras, Tammy Rose and Stephanie Sankovic.

Richard and Florence Nogaj Immokalee Encouragement Award and Scholarship: Theses scholarships, named after the donors of the Hodges University – Immokalee learning site building, are awarded to Immokalee area residents pursuing a degree at Hodges University. The fall 2012 recipient of the Nogaj Scholarship is Jessica Lopez.

The Jerry L. and Barbara J. Burris Foundation Scholarship: This award, named after Jerry and Barbara Burris, is designed to provide financial support to a single parent, male or female. This term, the scholarship is being presented to Velora Bishop and Yulianela Crespo.

Friends of the University: This scholarship is funded by donations from private donors, institutional fund raising and other sources. The fall 2012 recipients are Kamila Abdurazakova, Christopher Billups, Matthew Blakemore, Tamra Brown, Shkelqim Bylyku, Katherine Caprirolo, Daniel MacKay Comacho, Jason Downs, Silvana Estrada, Sergio Fitzgerald, Tara Galeoti, Juditte Jean, Hans Joseph, Julia Jusko, Kimberly Logan, Dale Painter, Parin Patel, Michael Reyes, Russell Morris Rodgers, Glenda Rodriguez, Glenda Salters-Manning, Stephanie Scott, Juciane Sena, Nisa Staruch, Scott Surface and Belinda Zivich.

Sam and Francis Bailey Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2011 Luminaries of the Year, recipients for the fall semester include Sarah Baldwin, Shawn Detrick, Lindsay Gaide, Scott Kehl, Bernadette Madden, Kim Muschong, Debra Purcaro and Sherrell Rolle.

Wayne and Mavis Miller Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2012 Luminaries of the Year, the recipient for the fall semester scholarship is Nelson Fernandez.

Dolph and Sharon von Arx Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2011 Humanitarians of the Year, recipients for the fall 2012 term include Heidi Rodriguez, Walter Sickels, Joseph Trattner and Mauricio Yabar Cerf.

Dr. William and Nancy Lascheid Scholarship: Established earlier this year in honor of the University’s 2012 Humanitarians of the Year, the students receiving this scholarship for the fall 2012 term are Corynne Gambaccini, Keri Reich, Cortney Roche and Kimberly Trainer.

Michael London Foundation: This award, named after local businessman Michael London, will be awarded to Nataliya Krupa as she continues her studies toward an MBA.

The John and Joanne Fisher Grant Fund,a scholarship named after the namesake of the Fisher School of Technology at Hodges University and alum John Fisher and his wife, is being awarded toEdgardo Suarez.

Hodges University Veterans Scholarship Fund is awarded to returning veterans who have chosen Hodges to fulfill their academic goals. The recipients for the fall 2012 term are Terrence Clemendore and Kenneth Squires, Jr.

The “SAVE” Veterans Fund, established in 2011, is awarded to returning veterans. Recipients this term include Adon Ben-Yisrael and Larry Layton.

Neno J. Spagna Scholarship: This scholarship, established in 1993, provides financial assistance to worthy students who want to use their knowledge and abilities to improve the lives of others through the betterment of the community. The latest recipients of this scholarship include Sela Adams, Jacqueline Epes, Ashley Polk, Maria Rocha and Demetrice Williams.

The Upper Division Scholarship: In order to encourage the pursuit and completion of a baccalaureate program, Hodges University extends a special Upper Division Scholarship for students in good standing who have completed two years of education which has culminated in the awarding of an associate degree from Hodges University.  For the fall 2012 term, the recipients are Sarah Hawkins, Gerald Monsanto and Sherrell Rolle.

QUEST Foundation Scholarship is being awarded to Cynthia Block.

The Florida Independent College Fund’s UPS Scholarship was awarded to Gerald Monsanto. This year, the Council of Independent Colleges awarded nearly $1.45 million in scholarships from its UPS Educational Endowment Fund to private institutions of higher learning across the nation, including a grant of $69,600 to the Florida Independent College Fund. These scholarships are awarded on the basis of the students’ academic achievement and financial need.

Esperanza Scholarship: The purpose of the Esperanza Scholarship is to afford economically disadvantaged Hispanic students tuition assistance and encouragement toward higher education. The recipients of the scholarship include Edward Camacho, Stephany Gaviria and Eucette Oreste.

Other scholarship winners include Madonna Bowles, Jeremiah Caroll, Missy Hendricks, Jeffrey Merriam and April Snyder (Vault Scholarship), Kelsey Paluch and Daniel Renteria, (Academic All-Stars) and Kayle Byers, Cynthia Hernandez, Fabiola Richards, Zajay Rojas-Rodirguez and Sheila Tanelus (Boys and Girl Club Scholarship).

To be awarded a scholarship, a student must either submit an essay on a particular topic or maintain a certain level of GPA, specific to each scholarship. For more information, contact Dr. Ron Bowman, Vice President of Student Development, at (239) 513-1122.

Ready to learn more?

My name is and I'm from . I would like to know more about at Hodges.You can reach me at and .

Permission to Contact:
Yes you may contact me. I understand that by submitting this form, I may be contacted by Hodges University
or its representatives by phone, SMS, email or postal mail. Data rates may apply.