Hodges University announces fall 2011 scholarship recipients

Hodges University News

Hodges University is proud to announce the recipients of several private scholarships for the fall 2011 semester. The private scholarships of Hodges University are available through the generous donations of benefactors and foundations who wish to assist students to reach their academic goals by offering financial assistance in the form of scholarships.

Lavern N. Gaynor Scholarship: Named after the University’s 1997 Humanitarian of the Year, this scholarship provides tuition assistance to individuals pursuing the benefits of higher education. Scholarships were awarded to Mitsu Andre, Antonio Giovanni Bianco, Sierra Borio, Trisha Kallhoff and Maria P. Sotuyo.

Richard and Florence Nogaj Immokalee Encouragement Award and Scholarship: Theses scholarships, named after the donors of the Hodges University – Immokalee learning site building, are awarded to Immokalee area residents pursuing a degree at Hodges University. The fall 2011 recipients of the Nogaj Scholarship are Selene Benavides, Mayra Cardenas and Terry A. Rosalez.

The Jerry L. and Barbara J. Burris Foundation Scholarship: This award, named after Jerry and Barbara Burris, is designed to provide financial support to a single parent, male or female. This term, the scholarship is being presented to Magda Arizmendiz, Alodia M. DeJesus, Sandra Gangl and Angela F. Hernandez.

Friends of the University: This scholarship is funded by donations from private donors, institutional fund raising and other sources. The fall 2011 recipients are Richard S. Allen,     Constantin S. Apostol, Kory Bozovsky, Michelle Brooks, Luis Bruno, Huong Thi My Bui, Shkelqim Bylyku, Gisela Chamberlin, Adam C. Collier, Frankli Contreras, Michael Eaker, Ni Tran Thi Han, Sarah Hawkins, Ingrid Hernandez, Jami Lentini, Lily McLane-Dalton, Daniel Michel, Melissa Montesino Reyes,  Julio Martin Ortiz, Gabriel Pena, Ashley Pugh, Vanessa Martinez Ramos, Agostina C. Re, Rebecca Roane, Cortney Roche, Marlene Rodriguez, Edward Rosenman,  Ruth Russell, Greta Taylor, Jeffrey Tosti, Laura Turushina, Johnathan Kyle Vargo, John Whiting and Mauricio Yabar Cerf.

Sam and Francis Bailey Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2011 Luminary’s of the Year, recipients for the fall semester include Sean Michael Betrand, Brian Javier Figueroa and Tammy Rose. 

Dolph and Sharon von Arx Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2011 Humanitarians of the Year, recipients for the fall 2011 term include Christopher Billups, Wendy Colicchia, Lauren Coons, Herlan Henriquez     Cruz, Silvana Estrada, Jolly R. Ghosh, Betsy Greenfield, Caitlyn Howell, Scott Kehl, Cecile McCown, Yara Morige, Patrick Paul, Noemi Perez, Jacqueline Spinazola, Amber Tipton and Vanessa Wilson.

The John and Joanne Fisher Grant Fund, a scholarship named after the namesake of the Fisher School of Technology at Hodges University and alum John Fisher and his wife, is being awarded to Barnabas St. Clair.

Neno J. Spagna Scholarship: This scholarship, established in 1993, provides financial assistance to worthy students who want to use their knowledge and abilities to improve the lives of others through the betterment of the community. The latest recipients of this scholarship include Monya Grace Engle, Brian Jones, Susan LeBeau, Virginia Neal, Michelle Ortiz Clause, Carmen Parra, Catherine Pink and Kristin Richey.

The Florida Independent College Fund’s UPS Scholarship was awarded to Marie Beauchamps Placide. This year, the Council of Independent Colleges awarded nearly $1.45 million in scholarships from its UPS Educational Endowment Fund to private institutions of higher learning across the nation, including a grant of $69,600 to the Florida Independent College Fund. These scholarships are awarded on the basis of the students’ academic achievement and financial need.

The Local High School Graduate Scholarship is awarded to a student in the first term of attendance. In Lee County, Lauren Brown, Brandon Dennis, Shakil Jones, Fabian Lozano, Nicholas Taylor Mounts, Roger Nolasco, Luis Pagan, Nelson Rodriguez and Brittany Rose were awarded the scholarship.

Collier County recipients included Joe Carreno, Arianie Alexandra DelaRosa, Erinleigha Lenhardt and Maricela Ramirez.

Additionally, Edward Craciun of Charlotte County was also awarded the scholarship.

Local Employers Scholarships are awarded to students in the local three-county area. For Lee County, the recipients were Tara Galeoti, Joel E. Canova, Jr., Alma Delia Mendoza and Thomas Ziegler. The Collier County recipients were Rosa Avila, Ana Aviles, Jean-Francois Belourse, Anthony Gallo, Cindy Gellatly, Kerry Hayes, Michael Knabel, Stephanie Knutowski, Stan Matveyev, Kevin Taylor and Louretta Wallace.

Other scholarship winners include Cynthia Block (QUEST Foundation), Missy Hendricks and Madonna Bowles (Vault Scholarship), Sarah Ansley (Miss SWFL), Kelsey Paluch, (Academic All-Stars) and Maria Magistra and Zajay Rojas-Rodirguez (Boys and Girl Club Scholarship).

To be awarded a scholarship, a student must either submit an essay on a particular topic or maintain a certain level of GPA, specific to each scholarship. For more information, contact Dr. Ron Bowman, Vice President of Student Development, at (239) 513-1122.

Ready to learn more?

My name is and I'm from . I would like to know more about at Hodges.You can reach me at and .

Permission to Contact:
Yes you may contact me. I understand that by submitting this form, I may be contacted by Hodges University
or its representatives by phone, SMS, email or postal mail. Data rates may apply.