Hodges names Sproul family as 2010 Humanitarians

Hodges University announced today it has selected Juliet C. “Judy” Sproul, Katherine “Katie” Sproul and Jennifer Sproul Sullivan as its 2010 Humanitarians of the Year. The award is sponsored by Baird and will be presented at a luncheon on April 21, 2010, at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort.

“The Humanitarian of the Year Award recognizes human beings who have nudged society forward through their philanthropic actions and who have touched the lives of so many in our community,” said Dr. Louis J. Traina, Vice President of University Advancement for Hodges University. “This is the 14th year in which Hodges University has bestowed this prestigious award upon a local individual or individuals.”

Descendents of Collier County founder and pioneer Barron Gift Collier Sr., Judy Sproul, Katie Sproul and Jennifer Sullivan have generously given back to the community in many diverse ways, reflecting a generational continuum supporting projects in the areas of children, the environment and education as well as professional business development.

Judy Sproul is co-Chair of the Executive Committee and a Board member of the Barron Collier Cos., a diversified real estate, agriculture, oil and mineral, and investment company. A 36-year resident of Naples, she serves as Chairman of the Naples Botanical Garden, is a Board member of the Florida Gulf Coast University Foundation, is a member of the Gordon River Greenway, and was a member of the Chairman’s Council of the YMCA. She also has been instrumental in the establishment of The Community School of Naples and as a past member of the Community School Board, the Collier campus of Edison College, the Naples Philharmonic Center for the Arts, and Naples Historical Society. Prior to that, Ms. Sproul was involved with the startup of NaplesScape. She has received numerous awards for her many community contributions, including the Holland T. Salley Leadership in Fostering Education Award, Junior Achievement Business Leadership Hall of Fame Award and the Naples Daily News Outstanding Citizen Award.

Katie Sproul currently serves as President of Agriculture and Eastern Lands for the Barron Collier Cos. as well as the Halstatt Partnership, which encompasses Grey Oaks Country Club and LaPlaya Beach and Golf Resort. She has been active in several local business organizations, including serving as Chair-Elect of the Greater Naples Chamber of Commerce and Chair of the Junior Achievement Hall of Fame Advisory Board. She also is a Board member of the Leadership Collier Foundation, Florida Chamber of Commerce and Florida Audubon Society. Ms. Sproul earned a bachelor’s degree from Cornell University and an MBA from the Yale University School of Management. 

Jennifer Sullivan is a Board member of the Barron Collier Cos. For her, family is the center. Ms. Sullivan has been actively involved with the Naples Botanical Garden, serving as Event Chair for the annual “Hats in the Garden.” She also has been an active supporter of The Children’s Museum of Naples; The YMCA of Naples, chairing the organization’s annual Sneaker Ball; and with The Community School of Naples. Ms. Sullivan is a graduate of Auburn University with a bachelor’s degree in business.

“For many years, the Sproul family has generously given of its time and talents to assist in the development of our local community and many worthy charitable causes,” said Terry McMahan, President of Hodges University. “Now, they are passing this dedication to giving on to the next generation. We are delighted to recognize their many contributions through the years by naming them as our 2010 Humanitarians of the Year.”

For their support of the community, for fostering hope in those afflicted by despair, for proving that the promise of tomorrow’s future never means forsaking the past, and for demonstrating the degree to which a family can make a positive difference when times most demand it, Hodges University is pleased to honor Juliet C. “Judy” Sproul, Katherine “Katie” Sproul and Jennifer Sproul Sullivan as its 2010 Humanitarians of the Year.

The Sprouls are the first family to earn the Hodges University Humanitarian of the Year Award in the 14 years it has been bestowed. Previous award recipients include Terry and Christine Flynn (2009), Jerry and Arlene Nichols (2008), Truly Nolen (2007), Michael Watkins and Ellin Goetz (2006), Clyde Butcher (2005), Peter Thomas (2004), William Schoen (2003), Frances Pew Hayes (2002), Earl Hodges (2001), Corbin Wyant (2000), Jack Humphrey (1999), Myra Janco Daniels (1998), and Lavern Norris Gaynor (1997).

The Sprouls will be formally recognized at a luncheon on Wednesday, April 21, 2010, at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort. The event is being generously underwritten by Baird, an employee-owned, international wealth management, capital markets, private equity and asset management firm with offices in the United States, Europe and Asia. Baird ranked 14th on Fortune’s “100 Best Companies to Work For” in 2009 – its sixth consecutive year on the list. The sponsorship agreement between Hodges University and Baird is part of a five-year partnership that matches two organizations with similar reputations and operational philosophies. Under the agreement, Baird, which has six offices in Florida including a branch in Naples, is the first-ever corporate partner to serve as the official named sponsor of the annual Humanitarian of the Year ceremony.

Additional sponsorship opportunities are available. Individual tickets cost $150 per person. For information or reservations, call 239-598-6159 or visit www.hodges.edu.

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy