Several Naples Students Receiving Scholarships from Hodges University

Hodges University is proud to announce the recipients of several private scholarships for the summer 2008 semester. The private scholarships of Hodges University are available through the generous donations of benefactors and foundations who wish to assist students to reach their academic goals by offering financial assistance in the form of scholarships. All of the students listed below are from the Naples area.
Lavern N. Gaynor Scholarship: Named after the University’s 1997 Humanitarian of the Year, this scholarship provides tuition assistance to individuals pursuing the benefits of higher education. Scholarships were awarded to Paul Etienne, Laura Prescott and Orjada Dervishleri.
Neno J. Spagna Scholarship: This scholarship, established in 1993, provides financial assistance to worthy students who want to use their knowledge and abilities to improve the lives of others through the betterment of the community. The latest recipients of this scholarship include Eleanette Rodriguez, Melisa Xenes, Tanja Bockius-Tiebing and Marcio Oviedo.

Douglas F. Devaux, Sr. Scholarship: Named in honor of one of the Founding Trustees of the University, this scholarship is awarded during the summer semester to full-time students when the Florida Resident Access Grant (FRAG) is not available. The 2008 recipients include Naples residents Erin Abenanti, Natasha Alvarez, Jessica Rodriguez and Clark Gray, as well as Aida Quijas of Immokalee.

Friends of the University: This scholarship is funded by donations from private donors, institutional fund raising and other sources. The summer 2008 recipients include Luke Werner, Nancy Cheri, Andres Jaramillo, Ellen M. Morales, Maricely del Carmen Gonzalez Pomares and Gail Spears.

The Jerry L. and Barbara J. Burris Foundation Scholarship: This award, named after Jerry and Barbara Burris, is designed to provide financial support to a single parent, male or female. It will be presented to Janice Hale. This is the second time Janice has won this scholarship. 

To be awarded a scholarship, a student must either submit an essay on a particular topic or maintain a certain level of GPA, specific to each scholarship. For more information, contact Dr. Ron Bowman, Vice President of Student Development and Dean of Students, at (239) 513-1122.

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy