2006 Students of the Year Announced

On Sunday January 28, 2007, International College will present its 9th Annual Student Recognition Banquet. The celebration, to be held at the Three Oaks Event Center in Estero, honors outstanding students of the 2006 Academic Year.

Leading the list of exceptional students is the 2006 Student of the Year, Naples resident Christine M. Wheeler. As a true example of a non-traditional student, Wheeler juggles classes, a part-time job, and the responsibilities of being a wife and mother of two. "I’ve always, all my life, wanted to be a teacher," she said. "Going back to school gave me the drive to follow my dreams." Following her graduation this term, Wheeler will assume the roll of Director for International College’s Francis Pew Hayes Center for Lifelong Learning. Dr. Ron Bowman, Vice President of Student Development and Dean of Students at the College, says that Christine joins the staff as the Center realizes unprecedented growth. "With Christine, we have a perfect match with a student that is already a part of the International College family. She joins us at the right time with the right skills."

Other honorees include Andrea Madai, winner of the President’s Award; Zaida D. Brown, the Sextant Award; Alyssa M. Enright, Student Leadership Award; Cindy A. Benning, the Neno J. Spagna Award; and Daniel C. Thompson, Jr., Alumnus of the Year.

Individual Programs of study will also be presenting awards. At the Kenneth Oscar Johnson School of Business, Tara E. Gangell receives recognition in Accounting; Dana M. Fulker, Business Administration; Albert A. Arneal, Management; Jessica S. Sonnentag, Master of Science in Management Program; Anissa M. Ecken, Master of Business Administration Program; and Anthony P. Lauer, Master of Public Administration Program.

Awards in the School of Allied Health will be presented to Barbara J. Ringwalt, Health Information Technology; Susan E. Stallwood, Health Administration; Lawrence J. Trotta, Health Studies; and Nikki E. Danials, Medical Assisting.

The School of Professional Studies will recognize Linda S. Dunn, Interdisciplinary Studies; Elizabeth S. McIntire, Legal Studies; Nicole M. Benitez, Criminal Justice; and Holly M. Christiano, Master of Science in Criminal Justice Program.

In the School of Technology, awards will be presented to Paul M. Lohr, Computer Information Technology; James D. Harrison, Information Systems Management; Sandra F. Bagley, Master of Computer Information Systems Management Program; and Mariusz S. Krolcynski, Master of Science in Computer Information Technology Program.

Dr. Bowman applauds these students’ efforts. "Each School has its own unique criteria in selecting a Student of the Year. The awards are not driven by the students’ GPA, but rather their demonstrated abilities both in and out of the classroom."

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy