Hodges University announces summer 2011 scholarship recipients

Hodges University is proud to announce the recipients of several private scholarships for the summer 2011 semester. The private scholarships of Hodges University are available through the generous donations of benefactors and foundations who wish to assist students to reach their academic goals by offering financial assistance in the form of scholarships.

Lavern N. Gaynor Scholarship: Named after the University’s 1997 Humanitarian of the Year, this scholarship provides tuition assistance to individuals pursuing the benefits of higher education. Scholarships were awarded to Anna I. Barbosa, Michelle Brooks, Katherine Caprirolo, Jolly Ghosh, Margarita Gonzalez, Justine Grant, Sarah Hawkins, Maria P. Sotuyo, Jacqueline Spinazola, Paulette Sprinkle, Valeria Suarez, Scott C. Surface and Vanessa Wilson.

Neno J. Spagna Scholarship: This scholarship, established in 1993, provides financial assistance to worthy students who want to use their knowledge and abilities to improve the lives of others through the betterment of the community. The latest recipients of this scholarship include Leonard Scott Ballard, Lorraine Castaldo, Michelle Ortiz Clause Latoya Fisher, Mandy Ellen Goldenberg, Natalya Law, Cihan Malikoglu, Trang Pham, Catherine Henderson Pink and Agnes V. Simac. 

The John and Joanne Fisher Grant Fund, a scholarship named after Hodges University Trustee and alum John Fisher and his wife, is being awarded to Sean Bertrand, Brooke Bond, Michael Patterson and Ruth A. Russell.

Richard and Florence Nogaj Immokalee Encouragement Award and Scholarship: Theses scholarships, named after the donors of the Hodges University – Immokalee learning site building, are awarded to Immokalee area residents pursuing a degree at Hodges University. The summer 2011 recipients of the Nogaj Scholarship is Terry Rosalez. 

The Jerry L. and Barbara J. Burris Foundation Scholarship: This award, named after Jerry and Barbara Burris, is designed to provide financial support to a single parent, male or female. This term, the scholarship is being presented to Alodia M. DeJesus and Sandra Gangl. 

Terry and Christine Flynn Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2009 Humanitarians of the Year, recipients for the summer semester include Constantin Stelian Apostol, Adam C. Collier and Julio M.Ortiz. 

Friends of the University: This scholarship is funded by donations from private donors, institutional fund raising and other sources. The summer 2011 recipients are Brian Abalos, Carla Anderson, Antonio Giovanni Bianco,             Deborah J. Brown, Mauricio Marcel Yabar Cert, Gisela Chamberlin, Wendy Colicchia, Lisa Dasher, Michael Eaker, Betsy Greenfield, Herlan Henriquez, Gino Hydes, Corine Johnson, Omolade A. Kolawole, Maricela Morado, Kimberly Dawn Muschong, Pena Gabriel, Jenny B. Perez, Marie Beauchamps Placide, Ashley Pugh, Leonardo Santos, Amber M. Tipton, Jeffrey J. Tosti and Ni T.H. Tran. 

Local Employers Scholarships are awarded to students in the local three-county area. For Lee County, the recipients were Sybil H. Bechler, Helen Y. Fernandez, Johnathan Kyle Vargo and Javier Valdes. The Collier County recipients were Luis G. Bruno, Lauren N. Coons, Alejandro Echevarria, Rachel Fortier, Ingrid Hernandez, Jason Luplow, Marlene Rodriguez, Robert E.Snyder, Monica Vecino, Katherine Villalona, John R. Whiting and Caitlin Zappola. In Charlotte County, Anna Callwood and Amber Ferrara received the scholarship. 

The Local High School Graduate Scholarship is awarded to a student in the first term of attendance. In Lee County, Cristina Godinez was awarded the scholarship.

Other scholarship winners include Natasha Karlen, Maria Magistra and Zajay Rojas-Rodirguez (Boys and Girl Club Scholarship), and Sandra DeJesus (Tharp Family Scholarship), Sandra Tarr (QUEST Foundation) Missy Hendrix (Vault Scholarship), Kelsey Pollock, (Academic All-Stars) and Gisela Chamberlin.

To be awarded a scholarship, a student must either submit an essay on a particular topic or maintain a certain level of GPA, specific to each scholarship. For more information, contact Dr. Ron Bowman, Vice President of Student Development, at (239) 513-1122.

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy