Hodges University announces winter 2011 scholarship recipients

Hodges University is proud to announce the recipients of several private scholarships for the winter 2011 semester. The private scholarships of Hodges University are available through the generous donations of benefactors and foundations who wish to assist students to reach their academic goals by offering financial assistance in the form of scholarships.

Lavern N. Gaynor Scholarship
: Named after the University’s 1997 Humanitarian of the Year, this scholarship provides tuition assistance to individuals pursuing the benefits of higher education. Scholarships were awarded to Christina Re Agostina, Sierra Borio, Lorraine Castaldo, Keisha Murray, Catherine J. S. Nadeau, Virginia Neal, Trang Pham, Marie Beauchamps Placiole, Carina Salvatore, Maria P. Sotuyo, Paulette Sprinkle, Valeria Suarez and Danielle Taylor.

Neno J. Spagna Scholarship: This scholarship, established in 1993, provides financial assistance to worthy students who want to use their knowledge and abilities to improve the lives of others through the betterment of the community. The latest recipients of this scholarship include Mitsu Andre, Kathleen R. Bryce, Latoya Fisher, Adam Frye, Mandy-Ellen Goldenberg, Justine Grant, Tristan Hensley, Juan A. Irizarry, Josef Robert Long, Marjorie Kepp Pyle and Wendy Castle Surget.

The John and Joanne Fisher Grant Fund, a scholarship named after Hodges University Trustee John Fisher and his wife, is being awarded to Sean Michael Bertrand and Douglas A. Roth, Jr.

Richard and Florence Nogaj Immokalee Encouragement Award and Scholarship: Theses scholarships, named after the donors of the Hodges University – Immokalee learning site building, are awarded to Immokalee area residents pursuing a degree at Hodges University. The winter 2011 recipients of the Nogaj Scholarship are Eddie A. Moran Resendiz and Carmelita Lopez.

The Jerry L. and Barbara J. Burris Foundation Scholarship: This award, named after Jerry and Barbara Burris, is designed to provide financial support to a single parent, male or female. This term, the scholarship is being presented to Alodia M. DeJesus and Sandra Gangl.

Terry and Christine Flynn Scholarship: Named after the University’s 2009 Humanitarians of the Year, recipients for the winter semester include Brooke Bond, Melanie Brauer, Sean Oliveira, Giancarlo Porras and Vanessa Wilson.

Friends of the University: This scholarship is funded by donations from private donors, institutional fund raising and other sources. The winter 2011 recipients are Brian Abalos, Marjole Abreu, Richard Sean Allen, Anna Barbosa, Robert Berens, Sean M. Bertrand, Kory Lynn Bozovsky, Michelle Brooks, Gail Buffington, Oswaldo Camacho, Katherine Caprirolo, Elizabeth Carpenter, Maribel Castellanos, Mauricio Yabar Cert, Ronald H. Chavez, Jennifer M. Conley-Laper, Fraun C. Delafield, Donovan Dungan, Michael Eaker, Shenica Ervin, Joel Garza, April Gehlhaus, Jennifer Gideon, Ashley Green, Richele Rand Green, Elenia Hagins, Kristie Huffman, Auraldie A. Julien, Julio C. Laverdy, , Natalya Law, Cihan Malikoglu, Inola L. Marcus, Melissa Maruccio, Mario Luis Martinez, Barbara Lee Mason, Cecile McCown, Yara S. Morige, Erika Marisol Morris, Jennifer Mosquera, Carmen Parra, Gabriel Pena, Danielle Pierce, Henoc C. Pierre, Melissa Montesino Reyes, Edward Rosenman, Lygia Sanchez, Walter Sickels, Tracy A. Smith, Jacqueline Spinazola, Bertha Alicia Tafoya, Ni Tran Thi Han, Laura Turushina, Zhenhong Alex Wang and Gregory D. Watson.

Local Employers Scholarships are awarded to students in the local three-county area. For Lee County, the recipients were Jessica Breitner, Colleen Logan, Veronica Reed and Lazaro J. Rovira. The Collier County recipients were Constantin S. Apostol, Shkelqim Bylyku, Tyler Chronister, Gustavo Echevarria, Katherine Garces, Nicole L. Haas, Matt Hudson, Ashley Pugh, Vanesa Y. Salazar, Nathaly Torres and Cecilia Avila Vizcaya. In Charlotte County, Joy Hemmersbach and Jarrett R. Moore received the scholarship. 

The Local High School Graduate Scholarship is awarded to a student in the first term of attendance.  In Lee County, Jackeline Aguirre, Jasmine McCray, Cristina Restrepo and Holly Treesh were awarded scholarships. Dachel Mauri Paz, a Collier County student, also received a scholarship. 

Other scholarship winners include Sandra Tarr (Quest Foundation Scholarship) and Damary Santiago-Ramirez (Cort Sayer Memorial Scholarship).

To be awarded a scholarship, a student must either submit an essay on a particular topic or maintain a certain level of GPA, specific to each scholarship. For more information, contact Dr. Ron Bowman, Dean of Students, at (239) 513-1122.

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy