On Sunday January 27, 2008,     Hodges University presented its 10th Annual Student Recognition Banquet. The celebration, held at the Three Oaks Event Center in Estero, honored outstanding students of the 2007 Academic Year. 

Leading the list of exceptional students is the 2007 Student of the Year, Trang Nguyen. Education is an important priority in this young student’s life. This year she will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in Health Studies. “I want to be a role model for my siblings,” she said. “Since I have taken my schooling so seriously all my life, I am about to graduate with my degree at 21 years old! I have learned so much more at Hodges than I had at any of the other schools I had enrolled in earlier – mentally, personally, and socially. I really appreciate the ‘real world’ experience here, and am honored to receive this award.”

The Alumna of the Year Award was presented to Ana Maria Senica, Vice-President and Branch Manager for Regions Bank in Naples. Senica earned her MBA from the school in 2002. She has spent 23 years in the banking industry and credits Hodges University for helping her develop an extreme sense of accomplishment that has helped her throughout her career. “It was apparent right from my first days (at Hodges) that their education model was geared toward the adult learner, which was exactly what I needed at that point in my life,” she said. “The classes made me reflect on myself, and gave me more self-confidence. It really helped me find a balance in my life, and I am very grateful for that.”

Individual Programs of study were also presented awards at the Banquet. At the Kenneth Oscar Johnson School of Business, Patrick J. Callan receives recognition in Accounting; Eve T. Kosciusko, Business Administration; Michele K. Kenny, Management; Estela R. Sanchez, Master of Science in Management Program; Michael J. Engdahl, Master of Business Administration Program; and Bonnie L. Scheurermann, Master of Public Administration Program.

Awards in the School of Allied Health were presented to Andrea Madai, Health Administration; Mary E. Raulerson, Health Studies; and Ronise Cortese, Medical Assisting.

The School of Professional Studies recognized Denny L. Winslow, Interdisciplinary Studies; Trisha L. Locke, Legal Studies; Melissa I. Smith, Criminal Justice; Jennifer M. St. Onge, Master of Science in Criminal Justice Program; and Karin I. Applegate, Master of Professional Studies Program.

In the School of Technology, awards were presented to Jonathan Bacon, Computer Information Technology; Sundy Alexandre, Information Systems Management; Bernadette L. Newburg, Master of Science in Computer Information Technology Program; and Alen Savatic, Master of Computer Information Systems Management Program.  Savatic completed his entire course of study online from his home in Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Other honorees included Christine Scanlin-Mitchell, winner of the Sextant Award and Monica Clark, winner of the Student Leadership Award.

© 2012

Naples Florida Campus: 1-800-466-8017
Fort Myers Florida Campus: 1-800-466-0019
Web site Powered by ActiveCampus™ Software by Ellucian, Inc.
Site Map     Privacy